Gallery

Lemon Pie

Considering that I don’t actually like lemon or acid things, this pie was absolutely delicious and moreish.

I had found a recipe somewhere in internet but as usual I changed it and in fact it still needs changing to make it even more delicious.

I grated the skin of two lemons

IMG_4555

I removed the skin of the lemons

IMG_4557

Then I sliced up the two lemons as thinly as I could

IMG_4558

I mixed the thin slices of lemon with the grated skin in a bowl.

IMG_4559

I added 400 grams of sugar, (200 grams per lemon)

IMG_4560

I covered the lemon with the sugar

IMG_4561

I mixed it well and left it in a corner for a whole day.  Every now and again, I would stir and taste it when I went past it .

IMG_4562

The following day, I put the lemon stuff in a blender and blended it all a bit (I really should have left it all smoother with no mini tiny weeny bits in it at all – so I suppose that the painstaking job of slicing the lemons to smoking paper thin could be avoided altogether )

IMG_4598

I put it back in the bowl for later

IMG_4600

Then I got going with the pie crust.  That’s actually  very easy too.

I put almost 300 grams of flour in a bowl and added a pinch of salt.

IMG_4603

Then I added a table spoon of brown sugar

IMG_4604

and one of white sugar

IMG_4605

In a separate bowl, I put about 100 of oil

IMG_4606

then added 2 tablespoons of milk into that and mixed it well.

IMG_4607

I put the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients

IMG_4609

Mixed it with my fingers

IMG_4610

Till it looked crumbly

IMG_4611

Then I added a bit of butter and mixed it some more

IMG_4612

When I was done with the mixing, I made two balls; one, slightly bigger than the other (the smaller one will be the top of the pie)

IMG_4613

I flattened the bigger ball put it in a baking tray and pinched it with a fork

IMG_4616

I then put the base of the pie in the oven

IMG_4618

Whilst the base of the pie got ready, I got on with the filling.

I put four eggs in a bowl

IMG_4617

After I whisked that, I added the sugary lemon

IMG_4619

I mixed all that

IMG_4620

I poured it into the pie base

IMG_4622

Then I flattened the other ball of dough

IMG_4615

and put that on top of the pie

IMG_4623

I brushed the top with milk

IMG_4624

IMG_4625

and baked it

IMG_4626

This is the result:

IMG_4630

This pie crust is really nice and easy to make and so is the whole pie.. Next time I will see what happens if I change the lemons by apples…. a sweet apple pie???  who knows…..

Leave a comment