Gallery

Chicken Pie

This takes a little time but it’s really worth it.  This is my Rosemary Chicken pie.  She gave me the recipe.  She was my personal library when I didn’t have any money to buy books.

THE DOUGH

300 grams of flour (I used brown flour)

IMG_4835

I put that in a bowl

IMG_4836

I didn’t have lard so I only put margarine, about 175 of it

IMG_4837

I added some water

IMG_4838

and mixed it all with my fingers

IMG_4839

till I made a ball

IMG_4840

I divided the ball into two, one slightly bigger than the other (the bigger part will go to the bottom of the pie)

IMG_4841

I flattened the biggest ball with a rolling pin

IMG_4842

and put it in a baking pan

IMG_4844

I flattened the other ball and  covered it with cling film and left it in the fridge while I got going with the filling

IMG_4845

I made a small chicken pie so I used less dough.

the original recipe for the dough is:

500 flour

250 of fat ( 1/2 of it margarine and 1/2 lard)

2 table spoons of cold water

some salt.

THE FILLING

Lightly fry onion and pepper together

IMG_4846

Chop up some courgette

IMG_4847

Add that to the pan

IMG_4848

Get some mushrooms (I used tinned ones)

IMG_4849

and toss them in the pan too

IMG_4850

Get some mushroom soup.  Ideally, the best option would be to use Cambells creamy mushroom soup but I didn’t have any so I made it up with a packet of mushroom soup.  Not the same, I know, but I didn’t have the real stuff at hand.

IMG_4851

I put some of the powder in a little bowl

IMG_4852

Added some hot boiling water and mixed it well

IMG_4854

Then I used some chicken leftover and cut that up in small bits

IMG_4853

I put the chicken and the soup in the pan with the rest of the stuff and let it simmer for a little bit

IMG_4855

I put the base of the pie in the oven for about 5 minutes

IMG_4856

This is the filling, ready:   (the good thing is that you can freeze some if you’ve made too much)

IMG_4857

I put the filling in the precooked pie base

IMG_4858

I put the top of the pie on top (don’t forget to make a little hole/slit in the centre and brush it with either milk or water)

IMG_4859

This is the pie, once cooked:

IMG_4860

A slice is missing:

chicken pie

Here it is:

IMG_4863

Leave a Reply

