Gallery

Fishy Rice (gambón + salted cod rice)

Mmmmm this takes a little bit of work but it’s really worth it.  If  you plan ahead then it’s quite alright.

I defrosted some “gambón” (massive prawns that have to be cooked)

IMG_2943

I lightly fried them in a little olive oil

IMG_2944

Once cooked:

IMG_2946

I removed the skin and the heads to all of them except to one of them as I was going to use that for decoration.

IMG_2947

I put the skins in a pan

IMG_2948

I added Nutmeg – Parsley and Salt: (actually, the salt was a big mistake as the cod was already salted so don’t add salt)

IMG_2950

Then covered the skins with water and cooked it

IMG_2952

While that got going, I cut up some chunks of salted cod

IMG_2955

When the broth was ready I sieved it.  Threw the cooked skins away and kept the broth:

IMG_2953

I dried my pan and put some olive oil in it.  When the olive oil was a little bit warm I added some rice and mixed it well with the olive oil.

IMG_2954

Then I added the peeled prawns and the chunks of salt

IMG_2956

I stirred a bit and added the broth, (the proportion is 1 of rice & 1.5 of liquid)

IMG_2957

I closed my magic pan and in eight minutes I had this:

IMG_2959

Mmmmmmmm

IMG_2960 IMG_2961

Leave a Reply

