Gallery

Fairy Croquettes – out of Cocido

I don’t like eating the vegetables in the cocido except the tomatoes and the potatoes, (I love them) so with what’s left I make croquettes, that way my daughter and I eat veggies.

This time, I added ham though.

let’s start.

I took the vegetables that I had left from the cocido.

 

I put them in the blender together with three triangles of cheese

 

And blended away

 

Then I put some butter in my pan

 

And added some flour

 

I mixed it all

 

Then I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, mixed spice for cake making and some salt.

 

then I added some milk and stirred.

 

While the bechamel got going I got going with the ham.

 

I chopped it up

 

and added it to the simmering bechamel

 

when I thought the bechamel was on the way, I added the contents of the blender

 

I mixed and stirred

 

and stirred till it got really thick.  If you find it’s not thick enough, you can always mix a bit of cornflour with milk and stir that in till it thickens.

 

I poured the paste in a container to cool down before putting it in the fridge to get really really cold.  Well, I put it in a plastic bag inside a container, just to make it easier.

 

See?

 

Later on, when the paste was really cold, I got a tray and filled the bottom with breadcrumbs

 

Then I put the paste in a pastry bag and started to make long tubes on top of the breadcrumbs

 

I covered the tubes in more breadcrumbs.

 

I cut them up and some I fried and some I set aside to freeze.

 

The result.

 

Some people add egg to this, but this way they’re really smooth and delicate.

 

There should be more croquettes on that picture but I ate quite a few before I took the picture.

Leave a Reply

