Gallery

Apple Caramel Biscuits

This is lovely and easy to make. The only trouble is that I used oven paper and I used more than what I would have liked.. poor trees!  – Next time I’ll find a way of not using so much paper.

The dough can be used to make any type of biscuits you like.

This is what you’ll need for the dough:

  • 150 gr butter
  • 100 gr sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 250 gr flour
  • optional: grated skin of lemon.  (I added cinnamon, of course)

you mix the butter and the sugar, I half melted my butter first.  Mix well till it’s whitish more or less and add the egg and mix again.

Add the flour:

 

Mix well and add the lemon thinggie or the cinnamon and mix well.

 

let it cool in the fridge for a couple of hours.

 

Make a ball, then flatten it and with a rolling pin give it the shape of your baking tray or wherever you’d like to bake this.

 

put a bit of flour on top to make the job easier for the rolling pin.  It’s very useful to use baking paper, that way you can flip the dough over without worrying.

 

When you have that ready, you put that in your baking tray and spread caramel. You can make your own with 2 tablespoons of sugar and 25 gr of butter.  You melt the sugar a bit, add the butter, mix and there you have your caramel. I used a little tub of caramel.

 

I spread it all over with my finger and then licked it clean.

 

then I covered that with thinly sliced apples.  (the picture’s gone missing for some obscure reason.

and after that I put the dough on top.

 

I brushed it with a bit of water with a paintbrush and put it in the oven.

 

When it’s ready, you take it out and let it cool for 2 minutes more or less.

 

Flip that over with the help of some more baking paper and there you have your giant biscuit

 

Cut it into squares or however you like it  and serve.  You could use some heart shaped biscuits moulds if you like but I couldn’t be bothered to go and find them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

